Double Wedding Ring

Four years ago on July 4 my daughter was married! Naturally, I had to make a wedding quilt as a gift and no other would do but a Double Wedding Ring quilt. As soon as the quilt came off the long arm and even before I applied the binding, I snapped this photo:
The big picture

I designed a block in EQ7 and used a Moda fabric I knew she would love, Patisserie by Joanna Figueroa of Fig Tree Quilts.
It took me three months just to piece the project! From EQ7 I printed templates for the four-legged shape and the football shape. I drilled tiny holes in the templates so that I could add registration marks. I traced the templates onto the rosebud background fabric, transferred the registration marks to the fabric pieces and then cut out each of these pieces with a scissors instead of rotary cutter. The “patches” surrounding the football piece were paper pieced using a foundation pattern printed from EQ7, also.
The four-legged shape:
Four-legged shapes, total of 56 in all.
The football shape assembly sewn to the four-legged shape:
Pressed, right side

The entire quilt used 56 of these units. Just assembling the units was a challenge, but then sewing them into rows and sewing the rows together were quite a project, too:
Rows..........

I free-motioned a single feather in each football shape and continuous curve quilted the surrounding patches:
IMG_0152

I free-motioned four curving feathers in the four-legged space:
IMG_0153

I trimmed around and bound the curves of the rings on the outside edges:
Binding at corner
I was really lucky to catch some good light for the finished quilting. The Front:
Front side of quilt
The Back:
IMG_0146

For a Flickr slide show on assembling the unit above and all my pictures of the quilt, click here.

For my daughter’s blog post about the quilt, click here.

This entry was posted in Double Wedding Ring. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Double Wedding Ring

  1. lillian Perry says:

    I had forgotton how incredible the whole process was and how incredible the finished product is. Thanks for re-sharing. LP

    Date: Sat, 6 Jul 2013 13:49:47 +0000 To: mamalillian@hotmail.com

  2. Miss Jean says:

    A Fig Tree Wedding Ring quilt!!! Absolutely beautiful.

Leave a Reply

