Mimi’s New Mexico Quilt

I made a quilt especially for Mimi to use when she comes to visit me in New Mexico:
IMG_0296 (2)
This is the first bed-sized quilt I have completed on my new Innova long-arm quilting machine. Also, it is the first quilt I have ever done using ruler work only, no feathers or curves:
IMG_0300
I ended up using the “boomerang” motif extensively all over the quilt. In the flying geese . . .
IMG_1581
IMG_1579
IMG_0301
. . . and in the central blocks:
IMG_0302
IMG_0304
IMG_0306
I added a little variety by using a diamond motif in the gray sashing strips:
IMG_0303
I love the backing fabric I found in my LQS, “Quilts Ole” in Corrales, NM:
IMG_0308
When I had the quilt hanging for the photo shoot, the sun shone through to the backing creating a fun stained glass effect!
IMG_0287
IMG_0290
IMG_0291
Do you have a quilt stand? They are so handy:
IMG_0296
My quilt design was based on a design called “Elemental” by Art Gallery Fabrics.

This entry was posted in Mimi's New Mexico Quilt. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Mimi’s New Mexico Quilt

  1. Kathryn Trudeau says:

    I love everything about this. Only I thought you were making it for your own bed. Do you have plans to do so?

    >

    • fortquilt says:

      I have plans for the quilts in the other guest bedroom and for the master. So many quilts, so little time!

  2. Kathryn says:

    I love everything about this.

  3. Purpleneedle says:

    Nice work Joyce. Yes that backing fabric is awesome!!!

  4. Marcy says:

    Exceptional … as always! Mimi will love it ❤️

  5. fortquilt says:

    Thank you.

  6. adaisygarden says:

    It’s beautiful! Great job! 😊

  7. Lillian says:

    Obviously, you are inspired by your surroundings! I love the ruler quilting, perfect for the quilt design.

Leave a Reply

